Good tires for street and dirt- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2008

Good tires for street and dirt

Hey guys.

This is my first time posting on here as i am returning to biking.

I have a newer Specialized Hard Rock. I like to take it on trails and dirt, but lately i have also been doing a lot of riding on the streets. I am looking for suggestions of tires that would be good for both. LIke brands. Or even tell me what they are called. I found some Hybrid tires. Is that what they are called? I would also appreiciate it if i can get some suggestions of a good website to buy them at.

Thanks in advance for any help.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Maxxis Crossmark is the tire for you.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    There are a lot of designs that have a slick'ish center and knobs on the side. Check out the Ritchey Speed Max line of tires. I've used them on my cyclocross bike, but they do offer a 26" X 2.0 size, too.

I was amazed on how well they worked on the trails.

since 4/10/2009
    I have some Panaracer Trailblasters.

Not quite along the lines of a Ritchie Speedmax (I used to ride those) due to the presence of center knobs, but those knobs are low-profile. and ramped so they don't hurt rolling resistance much.

I have the 1.95's on my commuter right now, and there's some dirt along my commute. no complaints.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    I do mostly road work now, but there are a few trails on my way. I was in my LBS, and they had some Bontrager H4 Plus on sale for $25 bucks, normal price was $52 so I bought a pair. I'm so glad I made that purchase, street travel never felt so good! To my surprise, they were also pretty grippy (<---if that is even a word) on the trails. Don't bother looking, if thin tires is not your thing.

mtbr member
    Also take a look at Kenda Kozmik Lite II. Relatively light, fast, and cheap. And you can do 80psi for street and smooth hardpack rides. Will get a little sketchy in the really rough stuff though.