Giant Bowery- Mtbr.com

Thread: Giant Bowery

A Gentleman and a MTBR'
    Mar 2007

Giant Bowery

I'm looking for a modern single speed road bike, threadless steerer etc. My LBS has a giant Bowery in my size for $400 right now. The catch? ALUMINUM. I only hear good things about steel road bikes around here and I'm pretty new to new road bikes so I'm wondering if I would be happier with a steel frame (like my beater Nishiki fixie). I know I just need to ride the bike but for the price would that be a nice bike?

All That is Man
    I like my Aluminum Iro frame. It's flexier than it needs to be if you ask me. Lots of people like steel bikes for super comfort, but I prefer speed and efficiency. I've seen that Bowery before, it's pretty sweet. For $400 I would pick it up. If the front end is alittle too harsh for your tastes, pickup a cheap bullhorn bar for it. The cheaper the flexier on those or get a carbon drop bar.
    John

A Gentleman and a MTBR'
    Mar 2007
    Yeah, I probably will grab it then. Maybe a carbon fork to help the bike lose a few pounds. My daily commute is 11 blocks, but the bike will be for riding on the parkway too.

mtbr member
    I wouldn't balk on the alum frame. But, that said, I found a SE Lager (SE mostly makes BMX bikes, with about 3 SS bikes in their line - stay away from the Draft, which is the cheapest). It has a 4130 CrMo frame, bullhorns, 700x28 tires, and comes stock with a 42x16 setup. I have about 1000 commuting miles on it now. It retails for about $420 (Performance - may not be in stock, but they can get it in a couple of days). I got mine last Nov with a 15% off coupon and 10% back as a team perf member, so it was cheap.

I upgraded the freewheel to an ENO and am thinking of getting it repainted soon (mine's an 07 with an ugly tan paint job, the '08 is better looking).