Flat on Commute- Mtbr.com

Thread: Flat on Commute

mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Flat on Commute

I am a newbie to commuting as of this summer. Having a flat rear tire in the northeast on a backroad at 7PM in November made it a tad dark, but all was good as I had the mini-flashlight, a set of tire levers, a spare tube, and a pump. In some ways, I am glad this was my second flat, so I had recent experience to changing tubes in daylight, otherwise I'd be fumbling until sunrise.

Perhaps I have been spoiled by car tires, but I am a bit surprised by having two flats in 600 miles. The tires at 700x38 and they don't get abused. I have heard of heavier tubes, slime and the like, but it seems there are mixed reviews on how well these products prevent flats. Does this equipment help?

I'm SUCH a square....
    Flats seem to come and go in waves; I went a year and a half without one, then caught five in two months. Sometimes, sh** just happens.

Other than that, I'd suggest being more vigilant about the 'path' in front of you. There's a lot of stuff that pops up, seemingly out of nowhere.

Unless your tires are worn, I'd put those other products on the back burner. Success is mixed, at best.
    A bike is the only drug with no bad side effects....

Ovaries on the Outside
    I go long periods without flats on my commuters. Several things that help- tire pressure vigilance. Checking tires for debris- I only do this once a week, but I often pull out several shards of glass. From there I'd just be sure that your rims strips are in good condition, that there aren't objects sticking through the tire from the inside, check for holes, etc.

Have an extra tube in your pack and just pull the flatted tube, replace it, patch it in the comfort of your own home and it becomes the back up tube.

Bedwards Of The West