Fixie

Printable View

• 12-01-2009
    chrisocross
    Fixie
    Is anybody riding a fixie?

I just started riding fixie about a week ago and love it so far, it is a nice change from the mt. bike. I took my old road bike, put some of my spare mt. bike handle bars on it and bought a wheel set. My front is a 40 and rear is a 16. It is sure fun spinning the rear tire backwards while going down a hill.

What gears are you running?
  • 12-01-2009
    jct
    i have one for my close to home excursions: gym, grocery store, liquor store, candyman etc.

i think i'm pushing 47/17.

i love riding it...there's something about riding a bike that makes absolutely no sound whatsoever...
  • 12-01-2009
    umarth
    I prefer fixed gear for road riding. I like to maximize the time in the saddle and the constant engagement of the fixed gear is nice. That being said, it is a fairly restrictive bike, given that it is a bike set up that can make long rides, steep or long descents lame.

SS is nice too, and a bit more pracitical- yay for flip-flop hubs!
  • 12-01-2009
    CommuterBoy
    Wait, I think I....

...nope, I still don't get it. :lol: The simplicity and fun factor of SS makes perfect sense, but I just can't wrap my mind around what could possibly be enjoyable (it's OBVIOUSLY not practical for anything) about riding a fixie.
  • 12-01-2009
    eyezlee
    Other than the old school feeling of riding a bike with a coaster brake.
  • 12-01-2009
    umarth