first commute and introduction- Mtbr.com

Oct 2007

first commute and introduction

Well guys, I've been lurking on this board for quite awhile and decided it was time to post up finally. I used to commute to college for all 4 years but after I graduated and found a job unfortuntately it was just too far away. Well I have a new job now about 8 miles from my house so I commuted today for the first time on my built up Spaulding Blade Singlespeed....i know i know its not a mt. bike but its all i got. Anyway the commute was great till i got to the end. I had to ascend a mountain. Unsure of elevation but it was about 4 miles long...it sucked and totally took my confidence away about commuting as I walked more than half of it. Any ideas about this part of my commute I want to keep doing it but it was just such a treacherous climb.....thanks for listening guys....this forum is great.

a lazy pedaler
    Jul 2009
    Congrats! and welcome!!...

did you study all your possible routes? yes? do it again.....When I started it my first commutes were like that (even with my geared bike)......now I can do the hill but at the beginning was impossible (I started it pretty much at the same time I start biking)...at that time I preferred to add a mile to my commute than do the hill....check that out.

Oct 2007
    Unfortunately the way I take is the only way to get to the my job. Its one way up and one way down...I work at a car dealership (go figure...lol) and its at the top of this mountain...sooo steep....its ridiculous...but i guess i should just keep at it right?

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

Yeah keep at it...