Extra-Cise?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Extra-Cise?

The Brutally Handsome

Extra-Cise?

I was wondering how many of you exercise in addition to commuting and what type of exercise you do, running, lifting, swimming . . . ? I lift weights for about an hour a day, and my ride takes about 1.5 hours a day, so that's like 2.5 hours of exercise. People seem to think that's excessive but I have a lot of energy. Anyway, just interested to see if there are others out there!

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Minimum of two hours of martial arts 6 nights/day a week. I'm an assistant instructor in TaeKwonDo and teach an hour on Monday and Wednesday nights. After teaching, I take my classes with the Chief Instructor for another two hours on the same nights. Then I train one last hour on the mats for Jiu-Jitsu for Friday's. On Tuesdays and Thursday evenings, I train two hours in Krav Maga and another hour on the mats doing ground work. On Friday nights are what we call Competition Night in Jiu-Jitsu, so I roll around the mats even more for about two and a half hours, and on Saturday morning if I'm not opening at work, I do an hour of free sparring in TaeKwonDo and 45 minutes on weapons. Sundays, I ride trails if I have time or don't have any errands to do, but lately have played paintball before it starts to warm up again.

I definitely get a workout more on my martial arts hobby than my 9-mile roundtrip commute to work and back.
    Last edited by LUNARFX; 02-09-2010 at 07:17 AM.

local trails rider
    I don't exercise.
    - My commutes are about 1 hour / working day.
    - I take out the dog a couple of times a day.
    - Several times a week I walk to the supermarket (an hour on my feet)
    - When conditions are nice, I ride on trails (anything from an hour to 5 hours at a time)

- When there's new snow, I clear it from the driveway and the sidewalk in front.

a lazy pedaler
    Jul 2009