Complete Newb w/Rack Question....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Complete Newb w/Rack Question....

I want a rack on my hard tail to double my grocery carrying capacity over what I can get in the back pack. I see on my "racing" hard tail I have a threaded hole near either rear dropout, neither of which are occupied at the moment. I assume they are for a rack. I don't, however, have anywhere to attach a rack further up on the seat stays.

Short of one of those seat post clamp only deals, which look like a very bad idea, what should I be looking for? Where's a hybrid bolt on at the dropouts/clamp on at the seat post rack?

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

Here you go....

Universal Cycles has three models from Axiom, Delta, and Headleand http://www.universalcycles.com/shopp...?category=3538 . All three attach at the drop outs and seat post. They are a good alternative if you don't have braze-ons on the seat stays to accomodate and "standard" pannier rack, and they have pretty much the same load limit, 45 to 50lbs, as most other racks.

There's no real problem with using a post mounted rack, I use one on my commuter. But you are limited to about half the load capacity, 25lbs for most seat post only mounted rack systems. The added conection at the dropouts gives more support to the system and thus higher load capacity.

Good Dirt
    "I do whatever my Rice Cripsies tell me to!"

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Get a front mount basket to further increase the capacity, mount on, mount off

http://www.bicyclestore.com.au/Topea...-pr-21657.html

May 2008