Commuting Shoes - wear all day?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Commuting Shoes - wear all day?

I'm lucky enough to have a casual attire work environment - jeans and T's. That said I still have to change shoes when I get to work as I'm riding an old mtb converted to commuting - and I still want to use my SPDs.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a SPD shoe that looks like a casual sneaker that is walkable/wearable all day?

My shoes I wear when riding are obvious bike shoes so they'd 1) look odd and 2) the cleat is higher than the sole of the shoe so you can't walk normally and not to mention the tap dancing sound they make on hard surfaces (which is most of my workplace).

mtbr member
    Oct 2014
    I've done some looking around for a casual SPD shoe... Haven't pulled the trigger yet, but something along these lines seems good. I've had some experience with other chrome shoes, and like them... so if these aren't overly stiff they could be good.

Truk Pro Bike Shoe - Tough Kicks | Chrome Industries

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by MudderNutter View Post
    I've done some looking around for a casual SPD shoe... Haven't pulled the trigger yet, but something along these lines seems good. I've had some experience with other chrome shoes, and like them... so if these aren't overly stiff they could be good.

Truk Pro Bike Shoe - Tough Kicks | Chrome Industries
    Humm those look like a good option - at least based on reviews.

My biggest concern is the flexibility and ability to have the cleat tucked into the sole so you can walk without a bunch of noise from them hitting the ground.

mtbr member
    Oct 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by jbsmith View Post
    Humm those look like a good option - at least based on reviews.

My biggest concern is the flexibility and ability to have the cleat tucked into the sole so you can walk without a bunch of noise from them hitting the ground.