Commuting with Pedal Assist- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Commuting with Pedal Assist

Hey all,

I'm a student at San Jose State University, and I have a project that involves bike commuting, and I was wondering if some of you guys and gals could chime in their thoughts on commuting with some sort of pedal assist?

There are tons of option out there yet I rarely see anyone using them.

What are your reasons for not using them?

Or if you do use them what was the greatest factor in getting one?

Thanks all,

Bryan D.
    Just keep pedaling, don't stop pedaling.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    By pedal assist do you mean some sort of power system?

If so, I don't like them. I think they lead the riders to ride like a cyclist but at traffic speeds.

crap magnet
    Pedal assist? Like electric? No way, Jose. I like pedaling up hills. PA completely defeats two of the reasons of why I commute - staying fit and and shrinking my carbon footprint.(energy to charge those batteries has to come from somewhere.) Even if I was open to the option, electric bikes aren't legal on a good portion of my commute (MUT.)
    When you find yourself on the side of the majority it's time to pause and reflect.
    -Mark Twain

Bedwards Of The West
    I commute because I like to ride my bike. I can't think of an area of my life that isn't made better by riding my bike to work. That list starts to shrink when you add a motor to the bike.

Plus, I have a Yamaha for that
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by R+P+K View Post
    By pedal assist do you mean some sort of power system?

If so, I don't like them. I think they lead the riders to ride like a cyclist but at traffic speeds.