commuting - need bag/rack/panniers(?) for light load in wet weather- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

commuting - need bag/rack/panniers(?) for light load in wet weather

so i'm going to be doing a good bit of commuting, basically 18 miles each way, 5 days/week. I have a 2012 Salsa Fargo 3 and I will need to transport "business casual" to and from class each day. By business casual, I mean basically khaki type pants, and a button down shirt with $50 shoes. Nothing expensive, but for class we have to dress up more than standard college classes, i.e. no jeans, t-shirts, etc.

i will be commuting through December here in western Washington, where it rains a good bit and I obviously don't want my stuff getting all nasty. i'll also be transporting a day's supply of food (i.e. peanut butter sandwiches and such).

i'm really torn between going with a rack and panniers, which seem like overkill, or going with a frame bag, which I have no experience with at all.

priorities:

1. Keep my clothes from getting jacked up by the weather
    2. Not make the ride problematic due to weight shifting while riding (road will be mostly paved, some gravel and potholes)
    3. Reasonably lightweight (the lighter the better, of course)

So lemme know your opinions. Help me make my decision.
    just ride.

mtbr member
    Have you thought about a handlebar bag and front rack?

Search for porteur bags, randonneuring bag, or large handle bar bags. For loads under 15# a front bag/rack combo is great. Handling is better with a small front load than with a small load on the back. Frame packs are nice but the space is limited and they're often not easy to remove from the bike.

mtbr member
    Jan 2014