Commuter maintenance questions.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Commuter maintenance questions.

Hi Fellow commuters,

I ride a relatively mellow 14kms each way to work as often as I can. I used to not mind riding in the rain as I can keep my luggage dry (in a B.O.B. Yak) and I can keep relatively dry. I stopped riding in wet weather though due to what it was doing to my bike. The chain lube (Finish Line Teflon Dry) would wash out in about 15 mins. I almost wore out a pair of rims (rim brakes) in a year when I've never worn out rims before and wore out a bottom bracket so much that the spindle had play (which again, I've never done before). I only noticed this severe wear since I started commuting regularly, especially in the rain. Once I stopped riding in the wet the wear has also stopped.

Anyway, to get to the point, as many of you commute daily I'm wondering what regular maintenance do you do, what lube's been working for you, and how does you're bike hold up in the wet with all that road grime in the water? I really want to be able to commute everyday, regardless of the weather, but concerned about the significant wear and tear and not sure how to best maintain my bike.

Thanks for any input and as usual, if I should be looking somewhere else, or there's another thread I should have found, please point me in the right direction.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    I think u need to change yr brake pad every 2-3months. Or even shorter.

I never worn out a rim in a year time.
    As for bottom bracket, yeah! After almost of 1 year of abuse, it has the qucky sound but mine is a cheap stock seal BB. I intend to change a new one but just to lazy to do it since it is still ridable. :P

i also unicycle
    Jan 2007