Buy dedicated commuter bike or convert mountain bike next year?- Mtbr.com
    K_W
    mtbr member
    May 2015

Buy dedicated commuter bike or convert mountain bike next year?

I currently have a Trek Marlin 5 15.5" 27.5 with an upgraded fork, a RockShox 30 Silver... I am still a novice mountain biker and don't yet have the skill or strength for a real full blown trail beast.

To help increase my strength, endurance, and improve overall health, I have decided that besides actual mountain biking (which is highly weather dependent here in river country) I want to ride to work and around town more. Work is just a few miles by bike, and my wife and I frequently ride either-which-way on a popular bike path bordering our neighborhood, and can ride to our parents part of town and around their area on another path... She has both a new Giant mountain bike and a really nice older comfort bike.

But I'm not sure I want to do it on my mountain bike, and especially not on a nicer mountain bike I hope to get in the not to distant future. Bike thefts are high, but not NYC / LA high, and I've had my bike stolen back 10 years ago when it was my only transportation and now I am really protective with my current one and hesitant to leave it unattended, despite being a "cheap bike". This is part of the reason I didn't buy a nice one this time...

I want to stay with Trek, but I'm not married to them, I want straight bars, and I really want disc brakes... so new or gently used is about the only option...

1. Stick with the current mountain bike ride it everywhere, save some money, trade it in on a really nice hardtail or decent FS mountain bike in a year or two and ride it everywhere... not my first choice as I will only have one bike, new bike will be too much bike, get too much non-trail wear on expensive parts, and be thief bait to just take on a leisurely ride out to lunch... I'd never relax unless I could see it.