Building a CX commuter...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Building a CX commuter...

Hi all.

Again, I come before you, hat in hand, trying to figure out what it is I'm actually doing.

I'm looking to piece together a cyclocross bike. I have never built a bike before, and I'm just looking for a fun project to drop a little extra cash on here and there, while I get my fat ass in shape this year.

I am planning to build off Nashbar's great 'cross frame. Components will be disc brakes (I know, I know, but I live and work in the wet PNW).

What I specifically need is: What compnents are interchangeable from road and MTB? I ask because I can say " Okay, a bottom bracket is probably the same for both...." but I have no idea.

I'm hopeful to build a 2x9, or maybe even a 1x9. The problem I'm having is looking at all the different components and seeing which is compatible. Price is not a HUGE issue, but this is a hobby bike. I would like it to be sturdy and reliable, without costing a huge chunk of change to build.

So; Do I need a road specific deraileur? Road specific cranks? Or can I get away with MTB for both? Bottom bracket sizing? Threadless or threaded headset? Does it matter?

I don't expect you all to just give me all the info, but pointing in the direction of resources that are NOT focused on racing would be fantastic.

I really appreciate the help, apparently my search-fu is weak.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    I apologize in advance, but I'm going to use this as another opportunity to post my bike:

To answer some of your questions, the Bottom Bracket shell on the frame is 68mm. I can't tell you what legnth spindle you will need because it will mostly depend on the crank you use. Here are the frame's specs copy and pasted from Nashbar's web site:
    Frame Size: X-Small Small Medium Large X-Large
    Seat Tube*: 46cm 50cm 54cm 58cm 60cm
    Top Tube (act.): 50.0cm 51.3cm 53.7cm 56.5cm 59.5cm
    Top Tube (eff.): 52.0cm 53.5cm 56.0cm 58.0cm 59.5cm