Biking rules in town- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Biking rules in town

To all you fellow cyclists--I am new to mountain biking. I took it up because I wanted to remain active while having something I could both do on my own and with friends. I just read the "Rules of the Road", but I will admit I have been riding sidewalks (for 2 weeks now since I first got my bike) and crosswalks not fully knowing those rules. First, I notice a massive majority of cyclists in North Dakota (Grand Forks, to be exact) ride on sidewalks. Granted, most of these cyclists are families, parents, kids, recreational cyclists, etc.), but I rarely ever see cyclists riding on roads. Personally, it will feel very foreign to me riding on roads with cars. My question to you guys...in town...is it ok to ride city streets on sidewalks as you ride to your destination (paved trails, XC trails, etc.), or are should cyclists always ride on the road with motorists. Personally I feel rather intimidated on the road since most motorists have a tendency to have little patience for cyclists (not to mention the fact I don't trust motorists nearly as much these days with all the modern conveniences such as phones, GPS, etc.). You opinions would mean a lot.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Well here in Australia if theres a road, cyclists must use it. I normally use whatever has less traffic or faster flow traffic to get from A to B. In most cases it would be on and off the road. But im always aware of my surroundings and ride it safe.
    I dont ride it like many idiots bringing us a bad name!!

mtbr member
    May 2008
    I think that in most instances sidewalks are more dangerous than roads. Most motorists are not ready for something moving as fast as a bike on the sidewalk, they don't stop at the stop sign and block your path or hit you, don't look before turning etc.

But I also live in a fairly cyclist friendly town, and we have a quite a few bike lanes, your area may be different.

Ibexbiker