Bike Parking- Mtbr.com

Thread: Bike Parking

mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Bike Parking

I have recently started commuting to work twice a week, I am a teacher and live in the UK.

I have been told that i should store my bike in the pupil's cycle park, where it is only possible to secure by one wheel. My bike has quick release axles front and back so this isn't very secure for me.

Are there any rules about what should be provided? I know that a cycle insurance policy usually advises that a bike should be locked by the frame. Is there anythink more formal that i could quote?

Many thanks.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Are you looking for something to show your employer illustrating that their bike rack is insufficient? Maybe your local government has something but I doubt it is exactly what you are looking for.

I'd just get a long cable lock or second small lock to make sure everything is linked together. Weave the long cable through the rack, front wheel, frame, rear wheel and then back up to the rack. With 2 locks place one through the rack, front wheel and frame, then place the second through the frame and rear wheel.

local trails rider
    Insurance policies can vary. Where I live just having A lock is usually sufficient for insurance. But yes: a cable or chain lock that ties everything together is a good idea when parking in an accessible place.

weirdo
    I don`t quite see what you`re looking for either as far as rules and quotes go. I don`t blame you for not wanting to lock your bike by a wheel in a place where a lot of people will see it though. The ideas mentioned above are better than nothing. And for what it`s worth, I don`t think locking up your bike by a bolted on wheel is really much diffferent from locking your bike by a QR wheel.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    For the sake of safety, using two different types of locks, as suggested by Mr. Sheldon Brown, is the way to go. A small U lock and a strong, thick cable lock (i.e. one with Kevlar).