Best clipless pedals for a long commute with stops?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Best clipless pedals for a long commute with stops?

Hi everyone, new here.

I just moved up to the Stanford, CA area for a short-term project. I'm commuting from Mountain View over to SLAC, a distance of about 8 miles. So far the best route I've found still has plenty of traffic and stoplights (I probably stopped 20 times this morning), plus a few mild hills. However for the long stretches and hills I would really prefer to keep using clipless pedals, plus it's my tri-bike and I don't want to have to switch pedals out.

I currently have LOOK pedals (it's kind of an old bike) and it's clear that this is not going to work for this commute, as it's murder on my knees to constantly clip in and out so much, and the shoes are really impossible to walk on. Last night I had to walk my bike through a tunnel under the CAL train and slipped and fell pretty hard.

My background is basically triathlons and long bikes out in deserted parts of Texas. So this "style" of biking is kind of new to me. I would like the following:

(1) pedals that are pretty gentle to get in and out of (so, probably adjustable)
    (2) shoes that one can walk in without looking like a clown/making noise/falling down
    (3) a pedal system where if you miss cleating in, you can still catch the pedal pretty easily (currently on my bike I have problems with this, especially starting on an incline!)

I have used SPD before on a bike team where we shared bikes, they seemed ok. But I have also been recommended these "Time" pedals - supposedly used by bike couriers? Any suggestions?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Yup Shimano SPD's and any of the many MTB shoes consider something for colder weather as well....ie less vents.

Also a track stand at a light is fun

mtbr member
    Either the SPD's or the Times will be fine. Personally, I like my Time Aliums.

Bedwards Of The West