Anyone ride a Niner Air 9 as a commuter?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Anyone ride a Niner Air 9 as a commuter?

Thinking about going *gasp!* 29er! I was wondering if the Niner Air 9 would make a nice commuter. I like the fact that it uses big wheels and is a MTB frame. I have no experience with road bikes and also no interest in getting one. I've always liked the versatility of a MTB frame, hence my interest in the Air 9. So what's the opinion?

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    it's just a bike, ultimately whether you dig the ride on the road is your call.
    my commuters this in this past year: steelwool touring bike, merlin mountain bike, surly steamroller, lemond buenos aires, 29er'd surly 1x1.
    pretty sure there were others, but can't remember right now.

someone at just about every point in time has told me my bike has completely unsuitable for commuting (except the steelwool tourer)

for what it's worth, the wife's riding a scandium kona, rigid fork, bullhorn bars and 35mm tires. stupidly light set-up, she loves it.
    (most recent build pic in the commutant mods thread)
    If steel is real then aluminium is supercallafragiliniun!

Bedwards Of The West
    The Niner Air 9 would be a SWEET commuter. I'm putting the finishing touches on my hardtail 29er...I went the full mountain bike route, but I was highly tempted to throw on the drop bars and rigid fork and replace my cyclocross commuting machine.

Do it!
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

jrm
    mtbr member

I commuted on a El Mariachi

Quote Originally Posted by djork
    Thinking about going *gasp!* 29er! I was wondering if the Niner Air 9 would make a nice commuter. I like the fact that it uses big wheels and is a MTB frame. I have no experience with road bikes and also no interest in getting one. I've always liked the versatility of a MTB frame, hence my interest in the Air 9. So what's the opinion?