Anyone ride with a helmet cam or use one occassionly?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Anyone ride with a helmet cam or use one occassionly?

Lately I've been thinking about getting one. Ebay has some for cheap, like $50-$90, some cheaper. Then there is the Contour HD 1080, which is around $200. I'm completely new to buying a helmet cam. The smart shopper/cheapskate side of me teels me I should get the cheap no-name Ebay cam instead, but then again I sometimes will tell myself to skip the cheap stuff and go for quality. The Contour is a bit much, but I'm willing to go for it.

My plan for a helmet cam is for commuting and seeing what goes on during my commute...or at least see how it was. I have this fun idea of facing the camera backward just to see what drivers are doing behind me. Of course I won't be able to find out until I get home and review the video. Should be fun to see what drivers are doing behind the wheel while behind me. Also, should some idiot toss a water bottle at me, I can catch it on video. Will a 640x480 cam do the job of getting a license plate?

A cheap cam I'm looking at on Ebay is about 4" in length. Are they usually that big? I want something that's plug and play.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    The HD cameras offer more than just a "bigger" picture. The color, accuracy and detail is much better. However, there is a downside, you need a computer capable of processing/rendering/storing the larger HD files. The Contour 1080p and the GoPro HD are both the leaders in the actions sports market. If you have no interest in full HD (1080p) you could look at the contour 720 (discontinued) or the GoPro Hero 960. You might find the contour to be more slim and streamlined, but the GoPro is totally waterproof out of the box. Both are basically plug and play, but the contour comes with software to make easy/simple edits and post. Some people find the GoPro too fishy eye with the wider angle lens.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by webative View Post