'97 RockHopper - What Should I Do? Convert It or Scrap It?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

'97 RockHopper - What Should I Do? Convert It or Scrap It?

The Summer I graduated, I gifted the bike to a friend who was a Sophomore. We lost contact for a bit, but we recently reconnected and over a beer he says, "Hey, you know I still have your old bike at my parent's house - you want it? It's in rough shape though."

I thought, why not? If only for nostalgia's sake ... the rest is history.

I have no idea where to start. I haven't been headlong into bicycles in a bit. Family priorities and such - probably forgot far more than I remember, but, should I rebuild it or chuck it?

I'd want to make it a city bike or commuter. Can't really cut much weight out of it. I'd want to probably powder coat the frame, strip it down, see if 27.5" or 650cc wheels could work.

What would you do? Or should I just call it a lost cause and get a $200-300 big box special or something?

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    they make great commuter/ city bikes.... my rockhopper was in way worse shape than yours.....do the gears still work? you can convert it to single speed with a narrow/wide chainring, a single speed rear cog and a tensioner of some sort.... add fenders, a rack, street tires and lights to make it a perfect commuter bike
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails '97 RockHopper - What Should I Do? Convert It or Scrap It?-38461438_10155451617970303_2269376482012823552_n.jpg  

'97 RockHopper - What Should I Do? Convert It or Scrap It?-38458379_10155451617955303_1052162628404641792_n.jpg  

97 specialized rockhopper.- urban beater
    2013 GT aggressor 3.0- urban assault vehicle

mtbr member
    Dec 2017
    Just lube the chain and ride it. What's the issue?

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by twodownzero View Post
    Just lube the chain and ride it. What's the issue?
    No issue per se.