1st day commuting- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

1st day commuting

Built up an ebay carbon frame mtn bike to use as a road/mtn/commuter bike. I'm a teacher so the original goal was to start commuting 2 - 3 times a week to school. Unfortunately, to make a long story short our school was flooded during Hurricane Irene and the area I was going to use to shower/change was partially ruined.

Finally the shower area and locker are at least usable but of course I coach a spring sport so despite the weather I haven't had the days that I can dedicate the time to commute + I keep all of the sports equipment in my car. I decided the other day I would leave some equipment at school get all of my biking/work gear together and actually bike to work today

My commute 1 way is 16 miles with about 650 of climbing, so not too bad. I did it in a little over an hour although I got to work and realized my rear brake was rubbing a ridiculous amount. I thought I felt slow on the road but I haven't been able to ride a lot with coaching, I didn't get a lot of sleep the night before, and I didn't eat anything. So I assumed that was why. The tire was barely turning when I spun it so it was really really grabbing, I have no idea how long I rode like that - probably the entire 16 miles.

Now we'll see how the ride home is. I still have to coach practice so I'll be home quite a bit later then I'm used to. There is also quite a bit more climbing on the way back due to the elevation different between the 2 towns.
    "Like" the Brewery Ommegang facebook team page

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Team-...18356588347806

Bedwards Of The West

Another teacher here. Hope you can work out the equipment/schedule thing and make it work long term.
    You have no excuse for driving to work
    (unless you don't have studded tires)
    (no excuse for that either)

mtbr member