mtbr member
    Apr 2004

Red Flag Warning indeed

Every time I hear "High Winds! Red Flag Warning!" I picture the arsonists grabbing their incendiary devices and heading to some secluded spot near a highway. I only say that because I learned about their behavior when I lived in SoCal. I'd never heard of people torching the countryside, I always thought it was buildings for insurance money or something.

So I'm doing an errand just now. I get out into the monster winds here in Westminster...and smell the smoke. I scan the foothills (I have a 180 degree view where I live, from Lyons to way the freak down south. This particular fire is way south. Maybe you'll recognize the area from the shape of the hills. If you live near there you've probably smelled the smoke already.
    Take all precautions.
    Last edited by xcguy; 06-20-2012 at 04:58 AM.
    Who's in charge, the thinker or the thought?

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    Just saw the story on the news - Winds Push Wildfires In Jefferson County - Denver News Story - KMGH Denver

Then looked out my window overlooking I-25 near Dry Creek...smoke all over the Roxborough area.

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    There might be three fires working. I don't think the fire I photographed is up in Conifer, looks too low in elevation for that.

Rigid in Evergreen
    I just got the "Mandatory Evacuation Notice" call from the JeffCo Sheriff... I'm not sure why though since we live more than 14 miles away from Apen Park on the complete other side of JeffCo.

I drove home from COS to Highlands Ranch and this looks a lot closer to Waterton than what the news is saying

Why would you own 100 Yugos when you could own 1 Porsche? - Rumpfy

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    So, IOW, you all who live down lower than Conifer, you might want to take the evac warnings seriously. Good luck.

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Pau11y View Post
    Was there a planned burn last week? Saw some smoke...Tues or Wed?