mtbr member
    Aug 2008

OT question: Ski or Snowboard?

I am yet another damn immigrant to move this beautiful place, although I am not from TX or CA if that makes it better. All is I can say is the best Christmas present that I have received in long time, is the opportunity to live in CO and of course a great job here.

On to my question, I am complete newb to winter sports and definitely want to learn and enjoy some activity in the snow. I skied once last week at Vail and spent a lot of time falling and struggling getting back up. I had difficulty in slowing/stopping (snowplowing). So I have resolved to take classes to flatten the learning curve.

MTB content: I am avid cross country/ all mountain rider and enjoy technical trails with great vistas but not much of a downhiller or trials rider. I am reasonably fit and consider myself a strong intermediate rider.

SOOO in your humble opinion if I am going to learn one or the other, what would be your suggestion.

thanks,

Mountainboy

Gravity Guy
    Ski!

I may or may not be biased since I've been skiing for 20 years, but I have tried both and snowboarding just wasn't for me.

My advice is to try both and see which you prefer then take lessons. It will be tough to decide before you are good at either, but you can see which you are more comfortable with to start
    BMX: '00 S&M DBC
    Hardtail: '04 Norco Sasquatch
    DH: '05 Giant Faith
    Road: '01 Giant TCR2
    Trail: '08 Rocky Mtn Slayer 70

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Try both but take this in mind.
    Your first couple of days snowboarding will most likely be much more difficult than skiing. Once you get past those first couple days of snowboarding it will be easier than skiing.