mtbr member

Friends of Bryan Camp

I don't know how fast the word has spread on this piece of bad news, but our firend Bryan broke his neck and back riding near BV on Sunday. He is as OK as he can be given the extent of the injuries. I am not an expert in this stuff but he broke three c vertebrae and two t vertabrae. They are stable breaks so right now he is not in danger of paralysis. The crew he was riding with did an incredible job and got him out in under two hours, keeping him stable the whole time. He was air lifted from Salida to Denver and is currently at St. Anthony's.

I know a lot of you all know him from the racing scene. To many of us who are not tied into that whole scene he is one of our best riding bros, wether in the summer or winter, always psyched to go ride. The shitty news is he has no health insurance and is a self employed contractor. He is going to have massive bills besides trying to deal with living expenses while he can't work.

If you want to help Bryan out you can come down to Salida on Sunday for a little fundraiser. From 4-7pm at the West End Cafe (kick ass new resturant in town on First St. across from the skatepark) they are going to ask for $15/head and will supply food and drink. He needs the help. We will try to get something set up for friends who want to help him out but can't make it to this event. Thanks.

Schipperkes are cool.
    Bryan is doing better, every day. I am in contact with him on a daily basis.
    He condition is 95% clear of surgery or Halo, as the fractures were stabilized in the hospital in Saldia. My GF was the CT tech and has never see a skull that thick, so he is as lucky as you can be breaking your neck & back. He has concussive syndrome; aka he is "not really there sometimes" and slammed full of pain killers. An elephant tranq can't stop this human tree stump.
    He will have a CTO brace to stabilize his torso, head and neck.