mtbr member
    Feb 2012

Asking for advice for Denver

Next week I will be in Denver all day. I am not from the area. Can anyone help me with a few questions please? The plan is to rent a mountain bike for the day with the hope I can find some trails within biking distance of downtown. I was going to rent the the bike from this place: 'bicycledr.com' Can anyone give me some locations nearby that might be somewhat interesting? I know I won't find any real single track in the city, but I figured I would ask. I will also have access to a vehicle so I could drive 30-40 minutes to the nearest trail system. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I am a beginner, have been mountain biking VT single track for only a season. I love it and would love to get a ride in while in the Denver area. Things are drying out quickly for us in VT at the lower elevations so I thought I might get a ride in. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Just go to Golden Bike Shop in Golden rent a bike there and ride right from the shop (they can give you info on trails), return said bike, head over to Golden City Brewery and enjoy a beer outside.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Thanks man - exactly the type of advice I was looking for. Appreciate it.

Living the High Life
    Are you from a high altitude? The climbs here range from 20-60 minutes too.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    No - not from high altitude... I live at 2000' in VT. I am fine with hour long climbs though. Any thoughts on Buffalo Creek? Place looks pretty cool and it looks like it should be free of ice/snow by next Wed.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    My biggest problem right now is getting a bike early enough in the morning to ride by 8 or 9 AM. Most shops open at 10. I don't arrive till late Wednesday night.

mtbr member
    Buffalo Creek is great if you have the day to ride; would be a great option. Map here:

Front Range Mountain Bike Patrol | Maps Page

Living the High Life
    Quote Originally Posted by Big_Toobs View Post