mtbr member

All Mountain (AM) or Cross Country (XC)

Hey Front Rangers, newbie here and I am looking to replace my steel frame hardtail with dual suspension. Quick question though since I haven't bought a bike in a while. I am noticing more bikes labeled as AM (all mountain). Wanted to get opinions on what most of you think. From what I gather, the AM bikes are heavier with more travel, but I am concerned with their climbing ability since Colorado riding involves a lot of climbing. I am 6' and around 195 lbs, so a heavier bike doesn't scare me too bad, but I also want a bike I can ride comfortably for longer than 1.5 hours. I like to ride aggressive single track, but dabble in longer stuff and technical stuff as well - hardtail has run it's course.
    So, any thoughts on which way to go; AM or XC (budget around $2k)? Thanks in advance for everyone's comments and Happy New Year!!

mtbr member
    Opinions on this topic will vary a lot. My ideal FR steed is probably more an AM:

130 to 160 mm fork - adjustable if travel is more than 140 mm (U-Turn, ATA, ...)
    120 to 165 mm travel frame

Personally I ride a Heckler. 160mm fork, 150mm in the rear. Climps sufficiently well and gets me down about everything. Yes, I ride it for longer than 1.5 hours.
    "Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit." - And I agree.

mtbr member

mtbr member
    Are you referring to the Yeti 575?

beer is too easy to drink
    Sep 2007
    Don't forget there is a type of bike in between AM and XC called TRAIL bikes. They are lighter then AM bikes, but more rider friendly and a bit more travel then XC bikes, maybe just what you are after. Ride as many as you can before you decide the most important thing with a bike is how YOU feel on it, brand and type matter SO little compared to that.
    six pack cooler coming soon!

mtbr member