Mongoose Dolomite vs Malus OR any bike for heavy user under $400?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Mongoose Dolomite vs Malus OR any bike for heavy user under $400?

Hi All:
    I am interested in buying either Mongoose Dolomite or Malus. I am a 6ft 2in and 350 lbs guy. I will be mostly riding it on asphalt/concrete trails few times a week. I would like to know the differences and better option between the two. I am a noob when it comes to bike, so your help is much appreciated. I am also keen to know if the bike frame has holes to fit the below baby carrier: https://www.amazon.com/CoPilot-7064487- ... ion&sr=1-2.

Thank you,
    AR.

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    Why do you think the fat bike is the way forward for you?
    I don't see anything but a really draggy ride there. The tires and tubes cost a fortune, the wheels hard to replace if anything goes wrong. I'd recommend 'normal' size mountain bike or hybrid wheels and tires. If you're riding on smooth surfaces you don't need suspension, so there's a lot of bikes out there to better suit you than a fat bike.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    I assumed fat bike with its steel frame and 4" wide tire would easily take my weight. What other bikes are you taking about that are under $400?

mtbr member
    Apr 2020
    I was your weight, but considerably shorter at 5'9". If you're not aggressively mountain biking like jumping, drops, etc. you don't really need a tank of a bike. I wouldn't recommend a Wal-Mart bike, but a nice rigid bike with gears, properly fitted by the shop, is night and day better than a cheap Wal-Mart bike.