hardtail to full suspension..Is it worth it- Mtbr.com
    shining bright

hardtail to full suspension..Is it worth it

I have a Sette Razzo 29er that I have been riding religiously for the past 2 years +/-. I really like the bike, but I'm getting to the point that the hard rear end is jarring my skull. I seem to do fine as long as a take a slow to medium pace on the trails, but whenever I pick up speed I start noticing the bumps a whole lot more.

I've pondered the possibility of picking up a full susp frame and swapping all of my parts on to it. I'm sure some won;t fit, but I'm sure I could use my wheels, brakes, and drivetrain.

Question is, which one should I look for? I'm about 250 right now; 220 at my lowest. I stopped riding fr a bit and gained the weight back, but I'm at it again.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    It would have to be a 29er FS frame if you want to use your fork and wheels. Everything should be fine to swap over. 29er FS frames are spensive. I need an FS because of a back surgery so I sold my 29er ht and bought a 26fs. I love it way more.

shining bright
    Quote Originally Posted by kikoraa View Post
    It would have to be a 29er FS frame if you want to use your fork and wheels. Everything should be fine to swap over. 29er FS frames are spensive. I need an FS because of a back surgery so I sold my 29er ht and bought a 26fs. I love it way more.
    So you moved from the 29er to the 26 and you like it? I was always under the impression that once I went to a 29er I would not want to go back to a 26. I have not tried that - I just always thought that would be the case.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011