Truck Bike Carriers - Questions?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2008

Truck Bike Carriers - Questions?

Hey Guys I am a student in the Industrial Design program at Auburn University and have just gotten into the sport of mountain biking. This semester I am taking and open design studio and have chosen to design a new type of bike rack for trucks. I have put together a few questions and topics to aid my design. If you don't mind taking a few minutes and discussing these topics I would greatly appreciate it.

Don't feel obligated to respond to all the topics or questions any information will help.

Which would you prefer a quick release mount or a permanent mount to the body of the truck. Why or why not

What are you thoughts on having to take the wheel off vs. leaving the wheel on.

Bed mount vs. Hitch mount style carriers.

When loading a bike in the back of a truck what problems might you face or do you face?

Are there any security concerns of leaving mounted bike and unattended?

If a piece has to remain on the bike frame during the ride is this a negative (will not interfere with rider during ride and will be light weight and small)?

Thanks for your time

3 "fiddy" for short
    Sierra Coast makes a very nice bed rack. It has the option of bolting to the bed or using a QR type mount. With that said:

I prefer a QR type mount that can be removed at will and doesnt require drilling the bed.

Leave the wheels on, please. It is very helpful for those of us that use 20mm front wheels that bolt on.

Bed mount.

Security: Yes. It would be nice to lock the bike and the RACK so it cant be removed.

NO parts left on the bike. NONE!!

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Borderc
    Which would you prefer a quick release mount or a permanent mount to the body of the truck. Why or why not

When loading a bike in the back of a truck what problems might you face or do you face?