Toyota Camry / Hitch Help- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2008

Toyota Camry / Hitch Help

I am just getting into biking and have decided getting a hitch to get my bike around. I have a 1999 Toyota Camry and have been looking at hitches in etrailer.com. Particularly this page: http://www.etrailer.com/hitch-1999_Toyota_Camry.htm

I am not sure which hitch is the best quality of the bunch, anyone have any recommendations? Also what else do I need from that site if I purchase the hitch? Finally can someone recommend me a rack to attach to it once I have it all together. From the research I did on here I know that they should not be used for more than two bikes but that is fine for me.
    I did look into some roof racks but I had some temporary ones for my snowboards and were not to fond of them. I hated the noise and they killed my paint which I would not like to happen again since the car is recently painted. Also the trunk racks seem a little shaky. It seems like the hitch would be the right way to go, unless you have a different opinion. Thanks for any help you can give me.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    This is one of those instances where the prices tell the story. The Curt hitch is the nicest one. Draw-tite and Hidden Hitch are both made by the same parent company: Sequent Towing. They're not bad hitches, but the finish and construction is definitely not as good as the Curt. The powder coating process is the biggest difference. You can't see it from the images, but the Curt hitch is glossy black and the others are more of a matte finish.

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Thanks for the help. I think I will go with the Curt Hitch and the Swagman XC2. Is there anything else I will have to purchase? Do I have to purchase a Drawbar Rise kit like they recommend for the Draw-Tite?

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    I hope you get this before you order.