Thinking of a Yakima roof rack instead of a hitch rack on my 2017 Subaru Forester...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2018

Thinking of a Yakima roof rack instead of a hitch rack on my 2017 Subaru Forester...

hey all, looking to get into biking but as a beginner i am not sure i am ready to sink a bunch of time, money and energy into installing a hitch and a hitch rack.

that said, i do think a roof rack makes sense because not only can it be used for bikes (granted, probably not as convenient/good as a hitch rack) but also for surfboards, skis, snowboards, bags, etc.

any thoughts on Yakima or Thule racks?

additionally, i am perusing classifieds (Craigslist, FB Marketplace, Pinkbike, here, etc.) to find some cheap, used racks as i know they pop up fairly often.

the one issue i am having is confirming fit for a 2017 Forester. if i am reading the Yakima website correctly it's either the Railgrab (discontinued) or the Timberline (current). is this correct? are there no other towers that can/could work?

thanks!

mtbr member
    While you're deciding on a system, just remember to consider if clearance might ever be an issue for you. I know, seems obvious, but more than one person I know didn't consider that over the years... myself included. The Forester doesn't look to be extremely tall, but there may be a drive through overhang waiting for you.
    You didn't quit riding because you're old, you're old because you quit riding.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by fredcook View Post
    While you're deciding on a system, just remember to consider if clearance might ever be an issue for you. I know, seems obvious, but more than one person I know didn't consider that over the years... myself included. The Forester doesn't look to be extremely tall, but there may be a drive through overhang waiting for you.
    This can be an issue no matter what vehicle you have - I don't fit some places even with my WRX.

Pro tip - pay attention!