Suggest a rack for a Dodge Charger please??- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Suggest a rack for a Dodge Charger please??

Hi,
    I need it to hold two bikes. I don't have a hitch and my trunk has a factory spoiler. I was thinking of a roof rack or a trunk mounted rack. I'm an uber noob though and have no idea what I'm talking about
    Thanks for any suggestions.
    J.

since 4/10/2009
    You can probably find a hitch receiver you can add to the car. You could look into a roof rack, as well...or a trunk rack for that matter. Some of them (like the saris bones) do work with spoilers. I personally don't like trunk racks, but if you're on a budget, they work.

Trunk racks have the benefit of being easier to access and not likely to sap fuel economy much if at all. But, they can get in the way and they can obscure your license plate and taillights. Some cops if they have an itch, can ticket you if your plate is obscured, so you have to mount the plate onto the hitch rack so it's visible. On some vehicles with some racks, you cannot access the trunk with bikes on the rack. Many hitch racks stick out pretty far from the back of the vehicle when not in use and need to be removed. They're HEAVY. Some of them fold up to temporarily get them out of the way. Security with hitch racks can range from pretty good (about equal to a roof rack) to downright bad depending on the rack.