Subaru roof rack noob question- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2006

Subaru roof rack noob question

Hi all, I'm new to biking (only a little over a year or riding) I have an 01 Subaru outback sport (same body as a WRX wagon if you are not familiar with Subarus) I usually just take the front wheel off of my bike and I can throw it in the back (provided I fold down the seats. Am I the only one who transports bikes this way? I've never seen anyone else transport bikes this way. My GF has just gotten into riding again, however, now the inside of my car is getting crowded, if I put both bikes in the back I have every little room for anything else. I was looking into getting a roof carrier, (my car has a roof rack on it) do these roof carriers just mount to the stock roof rack, or do I have to take the stock rack off? How much should it cost me for a decent bike rack? I mean am I looking at 100 bucks for like 1,000 bucks? How safe are these thing? I've always been afraid my bike would fly off on the highway or on a turn.

Thanks,
    Steve

mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    Hey Steve,

I've got an '05 LegacyGT wagon. I also started out sans rack - transporting my bikes in the cargo area. In fact I could transport three bikes and three people that way, but it was a pain in the @$$. I ended up going with a Thule T2 hitch rack. I paid about $300 for the rack and another $150 for the hitch (I installed the hitch myself). I bought the T2 when REI had their 20% off sale - I'm not sure how much it would cost for a roof rack system. For me, going with a hitch mounted rack was a no brainer because I'm lazy and didn't want to have to heft my bike on top of my car after each ride. I was also concerned that at some point I might drop the bike on my car or end up doing the classic "drive into my garage with the bikes still up on the roof" thing. I think either way, your bikes will be secure once locked down.
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Nov 2006