Roof Rack and Rain- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

New question here. Roof Rack and Rain

Hi Everyone,
    This is my first official post but I have been reading the forums for quite some time. I am new to mountain biking and got my first bike this past fall (Gary Fisher Wahoo) so I still have a lot to learn but I am loving every minute of it.

I have a question: Can I have my bike on my roof rack when it is raining? I am heading to upstate NY tomorrow from Long Island and we are supposed to get 3-5 inches of rain by tuesday. It should be about a 4.5 hour drive, but the problem is that I need to leave right from work, which means that my beloved mountain bike would be rained on for 8 hours before I even left. Is this really bad for the bike? I am not sure whether or not I can bring it along on my trip.

Also, it doesn't fit in the car (2008 RAV 4) because of luggage, two dogs, and my wife...

THANKS!!

(I also posted this in the beginners corner. I wasn't sure which forum it should be in...)

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    my schwinn moab sat behind the garage, uncovered for 8 years. i think you'll be fine. as far as the rack itself goes, i leave mine on all summer long. and while i just recently got the bike mount, i usually have a basket on it that doesnt come off all season.

ignore my cousin. it was a camping trip and he was quite intoxicated.

the rack and fairing were 2nd, maybe 3rd hand at this point, and the only rust is on one of the fairing mount bolts. i honestly wouldnt even worry about it.

mtbr member
    I never had a problem with my bike and the rain. Its a mt. bike, it should be able to stand up to the elements!! I drive around in negative temperatures with my trek madone on my roof.

Just drive fast to dry it. I sometimes while the bike and car is parked (if worried) put a bag or cover over the bike to displace some of the rain.

mtbr member