Recon Rack Review (and comparison to 1up)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2003

Recon Rack Review (and comparison to 1up)

So I have been using a 1UP rack for the last several years, but with my son starting to bring his friends downhilling and needing to carry 4 bikes 200 miles each way to where we downhill, I needed something bigger. I was seriously considering purchasing a North Shore Rack, but was slightly put off by three things with it:

1. 1. I have watched people load them and was not impressed with their tie downs, see a lot of connecting and reconnecting to get the right tension.
    2. 2. I was concerned about the occasional complaints of the fork holder rubbing the finish off forks.
    3. 3. I was concerned about rust, which several people complained about.

After some searching, I found out about Recon Racks out of Washington. I spent some time reading the limited reviews I could find and then sent an email asking some questions. I was impressed that I received a response within an hour, on a Sunday. After some further consideration, I sent the $725.00 for a 4 bike rack.

I received the rack about a week later. It was easy to assemble, taking about 1 hour. The powder coating on it is a really nice black metallic and the welds are are nicely done. I wanted to put a few miles on it before I commented on how it works. Here is what I have found:

1. 1. It loads and unloads incredibly fast. I can load 4 bikes in under 2 minutes. If I am careful, I can squeeze a middle bike out.
    2. 2. The rack is very stable. 4 bikes at above legal speeds and no bouncing or moving around.
    3. 3. It will (barely) fit a 650B+ bike with 3.0 tires.
    4. 4. It is heavy. Removing and putting it on takes a bit of work.