My new roof rack. Any suggestions?- Mtbr.com
    Sandy Eggo

My new roof rack. Any suggestions?

Just purchased a Thule roof rack for my Audi A4.

I'm new to biking and roof racks; do you guys have any tips for making sure things are stable & safe? I loaded it up earlier today and went for a few mile drive: seemed great but I didn't go faster than about 35-40 on my way to the trail.

Does the bike look positioned on the rail correctly? Any suggestions welcome. Also, anything special I should know when I add a second bike on with it (I will be tomorrow).

mtbr member
    Dec 2009
    Get a bear bell and velcro it to the bottom of the steering wheel so you know/remember that the bikes are on the roof and you don't drive into the parking garage three times. Mountain bikes are pretty tough - they'll probably be fine but, your car and rack will be extremely unhappy. If the bells on the bottom of the steering wheel, it's just enough noise when you start cranking the wheel to remind you. And you should have a bell anyway for letting hikers and horses know you're coming.

code: mtbr2011
    install looks good....bars look centered on the towers....bike loaded into big mouth properly. nice neighborhood....i think you're ready to rock.

mtbr member
    What rack did you get? I've got an A4 too and have been thinking of getting a rack for it.

mtbr member
    Looks good. Just make sure you periodically check things are snug. I give the feet, bars, and carrier(s) a once over to make sure everything is as it should be before loading it up and hitting the road.
    Signature

mtbr member
    Mar 2005
    I think I have the exact same rack. I've had to use a spare strap to secure the crank to the arm, that way the rack arm doesn't slide off the frame. I've had that happen once on the freeway (doing about 60mph). Fortunately, only my car was damaged from the bike flopping over sideways.

Sandy Eggo
    Thanks for the pointers.

For those wondering, it is a Thule rack.
    LB50 Bars