How to keep bike from being stolen wile on carrier.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2006

How to keep bike from being stolen wile on carrier.

I would like to carry my bike to work so I can ride afterwords. The bike is going to be on a hitch carrier. How do you keep from somebody steeling it? I have a master lock adjustable bicycle locking strap now. I mean if somebody takes a shock, thats 600 dollars. Do you take insurance out on your bike?
    Last edited by qwerty11; 10-26-2006 at 09:18 PM.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    Take your front and back tires off and put it in your rig.

Hi!!!
    I work in downtown Boise, ID so our crime rate is pretty damn low. I also park in a somewhat secure parking garage. So I think I'm pretty safe from my bike getting ripped off.

But I do take precautions....

My hitch doesn't have a locking bolt (I find the Thule one to be too flimsy). So instead I just use the regular bolt it came with and then use a short cable lock to lock the hitch rack to the receiver hitch.

I then lock my bike to the rack using a cable rack and then attach a Kryptonite lock to the down tube and main post of the rack.

This is what I have minus the Krypto lock and hitch cable lock...

i like rocks
    cable locks provide zero theft protection.

i lock a kryptonite nyc chain through the frame of my car, and then lock it to an nyc u-lock around my frame. bolt on rear skewer and 20mm in the front.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    no locks or cables are for sure, but that's better than nothing.

mtbr member

Go for sure

Quote Originally Posted by qwerty11
    I would like to carry my bike to work so I can ride afterwords. The bike is going to be on a hitch carrier. How do you keep from somebody steeling it? I have a master lock adjustable bicycle locking strap now. I mean if somebody takes a shock, thats 600 dollars. Do you take insurance out on your bike?
    Solution:
    Tires on back seat

Frame on trunk
    Sit and spin my ass...

!