mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Hitch vs Roof rack for small car

Thanks in advance for any advice/thoughts/opinions.

Would like opinions on trunk vs roof racks to make a decision on which way we should go. I drive a 2004 Lexus IS300, but I appreciate any small car experience and advice stories.

I've been using a Bones trunk rack for 10 years now and it's been great, but it's reaching the end of it's life and my husband bought a brand new XL Santa Cruz Bronson 29'r that doesn't really fit the rack. In fact, he broke a part on the rack trying to force the bike on and now the bike kind of barely hangs on while being transported. Also for reference, I have a small Specialized Epic 26'r, so the bikes are pretty dramatically different sizes and weights.

His car isn't conducive to any kind of rack and I love my car, so I am not willing to get something new now just to haul bikes (although we have considered a cheapo 3rd vehicle - wagon or small pick-up - but we don't really have the parking space for a 3rd car and it means maintenance on yet another car).

mtbr member
    Aug 2016
    I have 2 different friends that caved in their roofs and totaled their bikes while driving into their garages after switching from trunk racks to roof racks.

I have never owned a roof bike rack and always preferred hitch mount racks.

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    Why would you throw a trunk rack on such a nice car? Just do it up right and put a hitch on with a Thule T2 or one of the other nice platform hitch racks.

poser Administrator
    only thing to consider with a trunk rack is can your car get a trailer hitch installed? Do you want a trailer hitch installed on your car? And understand that to get a hitch mount rack you also need to factor in the price of the trailer hitch install. So on top of the $300 for the rack you will need to budget in another $125 or so for a trailer hitch to be installed.