Hitch Rack - Securing Front Wheel/Bars- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2010

Hitch Rack - Securing Front Wheel/Bars

I am new to bike racks so please excuse me if this question seems obvious, but I want to make sure that my bikes are safe and for anyone else who might be thinking the same.

I have a new Thule Helium (2 bike) hitch mount rack in which the bikes hang from the top/down tubes.

My question is how do I secure, and what is the consensus method for securing the front wheels/handle bars to keep them from turning and swaying on the drive?

The bikes are securely strapped onto the rack and I use the anti-sway cage which helps out a lot but the front wheels can still hit each bike. I checked Thule’s website but did not find a handle bar stabilizer type device. Do most people just use bungee cords? Or, do people generally not bother with it and let the front wheels bash around.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

mtbr member extraordinair
    A marvel of affordability, utility, and complex sophistication - the bungee cord.
    Grit, spit, and a whole lot of duct tape!

code: mtbr2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Stupendous Man
    A marvel of affordability, utility, and complex sophistication - the bungee cord.

surly inbred
    My Helium came with an included cinch style strap. I shortened it to a reasonable length & it works well.

Bungees work, but I still see bike movement that doesn't occur with the strap; not to mention less THWAP on me & bikes when the shockcord slips from my hand.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Agreed, the all mighty bungee, but as the poster above mentioned there is still movement depending on how you strap it up carrying one bike. Not a big deal. As well the supplied cinch down strap is plenty long. I like bungee cords for quick ease of use.