Complete noob. Need rack for Corolla. Security is top priority. Only one bike.- Mtbr.com
    yep

Complete noob. Need rack for Corolla. Security is top priority. Only one bike.

I'm looking to get a rack for the first time. Car is a 2015 Corolla. I really have no idea about what company to look at, and what kind of system. Should I be looking at the big companies like Thule or Yakima, or are there others that are worth a look.

The price difference between a rack system and a trunk rack is pretty substantial. And I cant quite tell the level of security when it comes to a trunk rack being secured to the car. I'll have a cable or chain on the bike regardless, but I'm curious how each kind of system works. I'll be on roadtrips often and moments when I won't have a line of sight on the vehicle I'd like to have some piece of mind.

Bike has 15mm through axle, if fork mount ends up being a good option.

Thanks for any help.

since 4/10/2009
    a trunk rack can be removed from the vehicle with a pocket knife to the straps of most models. Some use braided steel cable, which is easily clipped with diagonal cutters. Security is not their strong suit.

No rack outside the car is all that secure. It seems like I tell this story too often, but I had a customer looking to buy a new rack a couple summers ago (I work PT at a shop) because his rack was CUT off his vehicle (with 2 bikes on it) with a battery-powered reciprocating saw in less than 30 seconds. Dude had line-of-sight on it and it didn't matter.

Roof racks have been getting stolen off of vehicles at trailheads for longer than I've been riding (it's about 19 years for me now).