Which car to replace Xterra?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Which car to replace Xterra?

I need to replace my 2006 Xterra soon. I LOVE that I can take my front wheel off, put the bike inside on a fork mount with half the seats folded down and go. Everything is secure and it's easy.

So I'm looking for another car that I can do the same with.
    Requirements: Bike fits inside with front wheel off, standing up, in a fork mount (truck bed) carrier.
    Don't want to adjust the saddle height
    No Minivans

The only car I have seen is a Wrangler Unlimited but getting into and out of it with a softtop might be challenging. What are your suggestions.

mtbr member
    Jan 2015
    Depends on the bike sizing but i would look into the subaru forester.

I am a subaru mechanic at a dealership and would say you cant go wrong, unless your about the cool factor...

plus the AWD is great for getting to and from any trail and subaru builds a vehicle that holds its value and is super safe.

That being said i have owned many subarus including a 16'. I got tired of the vehicle payment and bought an 04' ranger fx4 pickup w/ cash and have been super happy !

Used Ridgeline with a topper. Probably get your bike in the back seat with the seats folded as well.

mtbr member
    I know this is a mountain bike forum and all but I'd never pick me next vehicle around what's best to transport my bike.

That might just be me though..

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    This isn't the only requirement, but it is a requirement.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by ...Mark... View Post
    I know this is a mountain bike forum and all but I'd never pick me next vehicle around what's best to transport my bike.

Cool story.