Buying an Outback with over 100k miles? would you do it?- Mtbr.com
    person

New question here. Buying an Outback with over 100k miles? would you do it?

Let me start off by first saying that I'm a college student, I don't have a lot of money to throw around. That said, I am in need of a new car. In the past I've spent about 1-2k on a Sh!t box and dealt with the repairs. However this time I am really looking for a reliable car that I won't have to put a ton of money into to keep running. Through my research I've come to a Subaru Outback Wagon as the best car for me. Its large enough to carry a lot, has AWD, which would be very helpful up here in New England, it gets pretty good mileage (listed at mid 20's, which I figured I could coax up to about 28-29 with an air intake and high flow exhaust), plus as far as I know the roof bars are interchangeable with Yakima Roof rack accessories (correct me if I'm wrong). This brings me to my main question. I only be able to spend about $5000, maybe $5500. For that price what I'm finding are outbacks with around 110000-150000 miles. Would it be worth buying one with that many miles or would I have to spend a lot on maintenance?

FYI: I also plan on getting a standard if that helps.

-Thanks, Dave
    My epiglottis is full of bees!

Slapheadmofo
    EPhatch

Skier by trade
    Aug 2006
    If it has a good service pedigree, not an issue. You will be looking at a late 90's model. If it is a 2.5L, head gaskets are the issue, make sure it has been changed. Get a compression check and axel boots are good.

I would prefer to buy such a car from the original owner, meet them at their house, if the house is nice and well kept, chances are the car is too.
    Click. Point. Chute.

Elitest thrill junkie
    Quote Originally Posted by G-VegasMTBiker
    which I figured I could coax up to about 28-29 with an air intake and high flow exhaust),