Bed rail mount rack questions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2012

Bed rail mount rack questions

I have been trying to think of a way to haul 2 bikes in my truck without using the hitch rack. I have a silverado with the rail system in the bed. I was thinking of making a crossbar that will go over my toolbox and hold the front wheel or doing something that will hold the rack over the bed rail I am a machinist so I can make the parts just wondering if anyone has tried it or has any ideas.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    i am currently using a roof rack system on my pickup, but find it inconvenient to use a stepladder every time i attach the bike to the rack, esp at the end of a long ride when i'm too tired, so i plan to transfer it to the bed rails

instead of doing a permanent install, i ordered yakima tracks, to be attached to the bed rails, so that the i can adjust the control towers if ever i need to change the spacing between the crossbars (which is unlikely once i dial in the proper spacing, but still it's good to be able to adjust, if ever)

if i could only machine my own parts like you, i'd probably do away with the tracks and control towers, and just use a sort of "u" bolt to attach the crossbars to the bed rails, with a sort of base under the crossbar
    biker boy

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    I was thinking of using roof rack trays but making my own mounting hardware that would not use crossbars and would position them above the bed rail. I also do not want to remove my front wheel. I am always using my bed for 4 wheelers, and other large items. I should have been more clear. I know no one makes what I am wanting but just curious what all of y'all have come up with I have just started riding but find myself heading
    To the trail more often than I thought I would

mtbr member
    Aug 2009