5-8 Bike Carrier, Survey- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2007

5-8 Bike Carrier, Survey

Hey Riders,
    I am a mechanical engineering student at my local university and a weekend warrior all mountain rider. I was wondering how much interest there would be in a lightweight trailer able to carry from 5 - 8 bikes with an accessory box that could hold all your gear (helmets, shoes, hydration packs, etc..) The mounts for the bikes would be so that you do not have to remove the front wheels. Thanks for the input in advance. Happy Trails

ballbuster

Wouldn't be that hard...

Quote Originally Posted by Welganator
    Hey Riders,
    I am a mechanical engineering student at my local university and a weekend warrior all mountain rider. I was wondering how much interest there would be in a lightweight trailer able to carry from 5 - 8 bikes with an accessory box that could hold all your gear (helmets, shoes, hydration packs, etc..) The mounts for the bikes would be so that you do not have to remove the front wheels. Thanks for the input in advance. Happy Trails
    .... to do yourself. Get some Yakima rack trays and mount them to an off the shelf no-brake simple flatbed trailer. Prolly set you back a bit over a $1k, but prolly under $2k for the whole works.

mtbr member
    Oct 2005

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    No, I am wondering if there would be any interest in buying a trailer like that if there was one on the market. I have built the prototype already. I will get the pictures and post them if there is any interest. What I am doing is tring to see if there would be an market for selling these things.

don't move for trees
    There might be a market. If you can keep the cost down, and provide easy loading, and good use of space, there's a real possibility of people wanting them.
    this is what we use

10 on the trailer, and up to 10 in the back of the truck.
    "Get a bicycle.You will not regret it if you live." Mark Twain

ballbuster

Sure....