1up 1 1/4" vs 2" for 1-3 bikes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2011

1up 1 1/4" vs 2" for 1-3 bikes

Help!

Trying to decide between single 1up racks. I've read through the 1up mega-thread and various other threads and there is not much discussion about the 1up super duty rack.

I've got a transit connect with a 2" hitch. Will mostly carry a couple epics on it, but will occasionally carry some heavier bikes (may get an enduro soon). It seems that a few people have had trouble with the 1 1/5" quick rack with adapter in a 2" hitch. Also as an engineer, I appreciate that the 2" will be stiffer than the 1 1/5" (and the aluminum less likely to fail due to this).

The quick rack with add on tray is $520 with shipping, the super rack is $588, so the price is pretty close.

Finally, wondering on how the current tray powder coating is. I know a number of people had problems with the earlier powder coating. has 1up worked out those issues?

Grateful for any feedback!

-Monti

Picture Unrelated
    So I have the super so I can't comment on the quick rack but I can comment on why I chose the one I did. First off, I chose the super because of the ability to carry 4 bikes if needed; a couple years on and I still don't have the 4th space but I will get it at some point and I'm glad I have the option. Second, like you, my engineering background doesn't like adaptors and I will say that without the adaptor it fits snugly with no slop from the adaptor interface; no frightening wobble from your expensive bike tail.

Ultimately if you will commonly carry 2 bikes then the super is a great choice; it fits in your hitch properly and it's likely stronger and stiffer at the car interface. If you will often carry just one bike or if the weight of the rack is an issue when taking on or off then the quick rack might be a good fit.
    Don't you hate it when a sentence doesn't end the way you think it octopus?

Hi There!