1 1/4" hitch- Mtbr.com

Thread: 1 1/4" hitch

mtbr member

1 1/4" hitch

So I am looking for some help since I am a complete noob. I have a UHaul 1 1/4" hitch that I mount a Yakima Double Down Ace 4 rack on. I mount 2 Trek X-Cal 4's on it. Well on my CRV forum yesterday I found out for the first time that since I have a class I hitch I am supposed to be strapping my load (bike rack) to the vehicle. I have noticed a lot of movement. Here is a crappy video...

Is this normal? If not, how do you suggest I strap the rack to the vehicle? Next Saturday my wife and I are leaving TX to go to my new duty station in VA and I want to be secure.

Rent this space for $
    One thing for sure is you're right...that was the crappiest video on the internet. I can't tell where the movement is occurring. I'm not understanding the "strapping" aspect. It's a Class 1 hitch-mount. It doesn't "strap" down. If it's wobbling in the receiver then you should have one of Yakima's threaded locking hitch pins that snugs down with a wrench and prevents the movement within the receiver. I tried looking it up but Yakima's web site really sux balls in that respect.

Here's what I'm talking about...as best I could find quickly. It's something like this...

Replacement Hitch Bolt, Nut and Clip for BigHorn 4 Bike Carrier - 2" Hitches Yakima Accessories and Parts Y8780022

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Oh My Sack! View Post
    One thing for sure is you're right...that was the crappiest video on the internet. I can't tell where the movement is occurring. I'm not understanding the "strapping" aspect. It's a Class 1 hitch-mount. It doesn't "strap" down. If it's wobbling in the receiver then you should have one of Yakima's threaded locking hitch pins that snugs down with a wrench and prevents the movement within the receiver. I tried looking it up but Yakima's web site really sux balls in that respect.

Here's what I'm talking about...as best I could find quickly. It's something like this...