mtbr member
    May 2011

Pepperoni Blades Type 1 Headshok Help

Hi,

Firstly hello as I am a newbie to this site. Secondly I am after some information (hopefully).

I have recently obtained a 1993 Cannondale Delta V 700 and have a problem with the headshok which I believe to be a Pepperoni Blade Type 1 Headshok.

The problem I have is that the forks are permamently flat, although they seem to take & hold air (I have had 200psi in them).
    When you push down on the handlebar the forks go down but do not return until you lift the front wheel of the ground.

I have taken the forks to bits now and since I am not the original owner I was hoping someone could help answer the following questions:-

1) Is everything present in the pics below (apart from the needle bearings, boot & shims - didnt picture these)?
    2) How much oil do the forks take?
    3) Should there be an O'ring on the smaller ali threaded cap in the bottom picture?
    3) Do my symptoms point to just a lack of oil in the first place (since they take air)?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Please see the pics below:-

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Prime candidate for the fork trade in program.

Put a bullet in it, it's dead.
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by MendonCycleSmith
    Prime candidate for the fork trade in program.

Put a bullet in it, it's dead.
    Why is it dead? Can you explain a little more?

That generation of fork was non serviceable. The parts were designed to be ridden till they crapped out, then replaced in whole, as a unit.

Besides that fact, no parts for them have been available for easily 10 years +.

Not that it was functional before, but by taking it apart, you inadvertently put the last nail in the coffin.

Don't feel bad though, you aren't the first to do this, and you won't be the last.

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com