Thread: Opinion Wanted

mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Opinion Wanted

What's up everyone. First post and already need an opinion.

I stopped riding a couple years ago when I moved to a city and sold my F700 at that time. Well it's been killing me to start riding again and my wife has been bugging me about getting her a bike as well so I think the time has come to get back into it.

I am a lowly graduate student and don't have a big chunk of dough to just drop on a bike but I am interested in this one on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Cannondale-Proph...QQcmdZViewItem

I just wanted to know what you think about the Fox rebuild of the Lefty Max. Do you think this is something of concern? And how much do you think is a fair max to go up to on this bike. I realize the components are not the apex of performance, but I feel like anything to get me riding again is good, and if something breaks, I will replace it with higher end stuff.

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    I'd say the best thing to do is go around to a local bike shop and see if they have a similar bike (size and frame) and take it for a spin around the lot or block. That goes for any bike you are thinking of getting. I've bought three bikes in the last 9 years, and when you get on a bike that "fits" it just feels right. I tried out about 4-5 different bikes each time. It needs to feel right, and especially when you don't have a bunch of $$ to spare. My current bike is one I bought off ebay, at a pretty sweet discount, and it was really in great shape. I had rented that particular model for a day on vacation out west and really liked it, then kept my eye open for a used one. No matter how great people say the bike is, and how many people love it, its got to feel good to YOU.
    That's just my opinion, because I've always ridden way more competently on a bike that felt good. It just makes sense.