mtbr member
    Oct 2006

Newbie Help with Lefty Max TPC

Folks, I am a stark newbie, withmy last true mountain bike ride being over 10 years ago (the ol'd Red Box to JPL run through the Angeles Crest forrest here in So Cal)... That said, I am back into the sport with a new-to-me Jekyll 800 with a Lefty Max TPC front and Fox RL rear. The rear shock seems fine for my weight (just over 210 lbs), but the front feels WAY mushy. Is there a preload adjuster on these things? How difficult is it to swap a stiffer spring in? Good source for said spring? I'm sure I'll have more questions as I get "braver" and start hammering again... TIA!

mtbr member
    Mar 2005
    What size frame did you end up with?

The Lefty TPC spring stiffness' are based upon frame size.
    Med frames come with a red spring
    LG frames come with a black spring
    Black is a good spring choice for riders up to 200lbs I believe.
    You might need a brown spring (X-LG frame size).

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    ElZippos on the right path, but since it's a used bike, there could be anything in there. You need to determine the spring color, and go from there. To do this, loosen the upper clamp, where it goes around the fork leg, get a green Park Pin spanner, and remove the top cap. compress the fork, and look at the spring, it should be painted some particular color. Go from there. Welcome aboard=
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by MendonCycleSmith
    ElZippos on the right path, but since it's a used bike, there could be anything in there. You need to determine the spring color, and go from there. To do this, loosen the upper clamp, where it goes around the fork leg, get a green Park Pin spanner, and remove the top cap. compress the fork, and look at the spring, it should be painted some particular color. Go from there. Welcome aboard=