mtbr member
    Aug 2012

How "made in USA" is the 2010 F1?

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to biking and fell in love with Cannondale in 2011 after they shipped their production to Taiwan. I got myself a 2012 F1 which is an excellent bike and recently bought a new 2010 F1. I paid good money for the latter because it was the last of cannondale's US made frames.

My question pertains to the 2010 flash frame. Would any of the more seasoned pros be able to advise me if it was actually manufactured in the US i.e welded and sanded etc or simply made in Taiwan and assembled and touched up in the states (in which case it loses quite a bit of charm and novelty).It clearly states "handmade in USA" on the seatstay. I've read some comments about the quality of workmanship deteriorating post Dorel takeover.

Thanks and Cheers!

Stewed Screwed & Tattooed
    Feb 2004
    The bike is indeed made in Bedford PA.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Thanks bad ronald. I was under the impression that since the caffeine series started rolling out the knives have been out regarding the quality of the workmanship. The 2010 version looks to be much better welded when put it next to the 2012 F1. It just looks like a better frame.

I am also inclined to believe (based upon the reviews I have read) that most seem to favour the F *000 SL frames between 2001 and 2006?

Stewed Screwed & Tattooed
    Feb 2004
    The overall quality has been improved since the transition. While the welds may not be as clean the overall structure is definitely better. It is only a matter of time before the welds are up to (visual) snuff as the Bedford welders had way more experience than their Taiwanese counterparts. Give them a little bit of time and I am sure you will be hard pressed to see a difference. There are still quite a few products being made out of Bedford (Lefties for instance) and don't forget almost all high end bikes are being assembled there including the new GURU fit system.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012