mtbr member
    Mar 2005

First bad day with cannondale

Hi all, as said earlier, I was planning on getting an f800 lefty after much consideration between a titanium seven, kona caldera, dean colonel and a cannondale lefty. Money don't come easy for me but ride quality is important as well. And being an anal mechanic myself, I value good mechanical job.

So I sold my trusty 98 Gary Fisher. Went down to the dealer today, paid in full. Bike comes with sram rear cogs and xt rear derailleur (stock factory configuration). mechanic did HALFHOUR adjustments on the rear cogs and said it couldn't work as the pair don't match. dismantled rear cogs and replaced it with shimano deore cogs to see if it works. it don't, replaced original chain with xt chain, it don't work as well. I was really pissed now cause at one time, there are like 2 person workin on my brand new bike!!! with another one frantically pumpin up my lefty fork. I am a motocross mechanic I don't like the sight of 3 panic staff working on one bike!!!! It's not right!!!! Before I knew it, the cable sticking out of the front deraelleur is bent at an acute angle and FRAYED from the beginning to the tip of the cable measuring 2 inches!! WTF?? Was I pissed!!

Shop owner told me that he'll replace my bike with another brand new one tomorrow while I can ride his TEAM SOBE SCALPEL with crossmax, full xtr, magura mata carbon levers wat fukinever ........ I rode it., but when I try riding freehand, it falls sharply to the right!!! I can't cycle more than 10 meters without having to grab hold on the handlebar. Whereas my girlfriend's f600 (bought on the same day) headshok rides dead straight freehand when I test rode it.

My question is
    Does sram's rear cog not meant to match with a shimano xt rear derailleur?